Oh My Lemon Pie

Everyone ate the pie before I could take a picture. It's that good.

When I’m having friends over for dinner, I always feel like I’m always running around and end up throwing something together at the last minute that looks like a lame gooned-out afterthought. This pie can be in the oven in five minutes and uses ingredients that you always have on hand. I made this last night and one of the guests raved that it was the best dessert that he has eaten all year. The goons have spoken!

The original recipe came from www.food52.com where they blended the ingredients with an entire Meyer lemon – skin, seeds and all. I had a hard time getting my hands on a Meyer lemon, so I initially tried this recipe with a plain old organic lemon but it came out seriously bitter with chunks of pith. I tweaked the recipe to use a standard lemon (more juice, less rind), and it was sweet perfection.  Tastes like a lemon bar pie.  Serve it with a few sprigs of mint and vanilla ice cream, or try it with a shortbread cookie crust. My mom thought it would be nice with toasted coconut on top and coconut ice cream. Enjoy!

Oh My Lemon Pie

– 1 prepared pie crust
– 2 lemons, juiced
– 1 thick lemon slice
– 1 teaspoon lemon zest
– 1.5 cups of sugar
– 1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
– 1-2 pinches of salt
– 1 stick of butter
– 4 eggs

Preheat oven to 350. Add all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth (about one minute). Pour into prepared pie crust and bake 40 minutes, or until lightly brown on top. That’s it!

Leave a Reply

