How to SLIM a Goon

I’m not sure if most people experience the pull of good and evil with food like I do. On certain days, I crave veggies, fresh fruit and whole grains. I can even imagine myself a vegetarian, all slim, eating vegan meals and flapping about organics and farmers markets. At other times, all I want is a medium rare cheeseburger, smothered in bacon and oozy processed cheese with a side of duck fat fries.  Mmmmmm.  The reality is that while this entire blog is about feeding goons, 80% of the time I try not to be a goon (so that I can justify gooning out 20% of the time).

We’re going to the beach in one month, and I can’t bear the thought of trying to squeeze myself into that mini bikini I wore on my honeymoon. Drastic measures are needed – STAT!  For the next month, I’ll share this to-be-short-lived-kick of blending and juicing veggies, eating tons of salads, soaking grains, sprouting nuts, and delving into the world of “raw” and “detox” and “clean” eating.  Ugh.

So here is my first attempt at healthy eating to slim the goon/goonette. This recipe is from Kimberly Snyder’s “The Beauty Detox Solution.” It is intense tasting, but you get used to it, and it’s surprisingly filling. The first time you try this recipe, add extra apple and less celery for better taste. It’s intended to be consumed on an empty stomach first thing in the morning (after a cup of hot lemon water).

Wish me luck.

It tastes as green and as healthy as it looks. Choke it down!

“Glowing Green Smoothie”

1.5 cups of filtered water
1 head of organic romaine lettuce, chopped
1/2 head of a large bunch of organic spinach
3-4 stalks organic celery
1 organic apple, cored and chopped
1 organic pear, cored and chopped
1 organic banana
Juice of 1/2 lemon

Optional:
1/2 bunch of parsley and/or cilantro

Add the water, romaine and spinach to a blender and starting on the lowest setting, mix until smooth. Gradually add the additional ingredients one at a time.

Makes two servings. This will keep for 1-2 days covered in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

